Universal Health care

sabreclaww

jui jitsoooos
so....what do YOU think that actually looks like??? Ever been to a country with it? R you willing to pay everywhere so others can have it???

I have health care for the first time in my late 20s . If i wanted it, i knew i would have to get a job that had it...and CHOSE not to. Thoughts?

Noob

www.myspace.com/mmaspot
I lived in Spain for a while. I'm no expert, but their system seemed pretty functional to me.

I never had to visit the doctor, but I was told by other foreigners that they never had any problem receiving medical care.

This isn't an endorsement for universal health care, just passing along my experience.

FrankieButNotEdgar

Site Donor
I'm all for people getting free healthcare. It can be known to cause problems but people shouldn't be denied good medical care because they can't afford it.

Ninjastix

The Fat Mamba
Site Donor
I kinda like the idea of removing high risk people from the same pool as the rest of us, and I'd like to see private adjustable rate insurance that I can purchase irrespective of where I work...

For instance my rate would adjust depending on my health risk, if the risk was created by habit or inheritance, my current place of employment could contribute to help paying a portion of my rate as an incentive for employment...

Being able to have a rate of say 80-160 dollars a month for full coverage with a employee contribution of 25-40% would make me feel more secure than being undercovered...

I don't like the idea of institutionalize coverage, I'd prefer however that outlook for preventative coverage... as in clinics that are federally or state funded to provide general check ups, administer shots, provide free samples of medication for temporary aliments, and help improve diet and activity habits...