online genealogy websites just lost control

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by thumper, Nov 10, 2019.

1. thumper

thumper Picogrammar Staff Member

I've been warning everyone in my family not to do this for many years. thankfully my family tree is small and I'm the last male with no kids. the branches are small too and I've got a paranoid family about that stuff

Legal precedent just got set. now that doesn't mean anyone is FORCED to do this, but a judge has now ruled that the site GEDmatch not only didn't challenge the decision they made no effort to block it, so it is now established that it has been done. ALL the other Genealogy sites will be soon forced and if you, or ANYONE in your family tree has ever done these online tests, you have been exposed, as well as everyone in your family.

Again PLEASE never do these tests. it appears nobody even challenged this and it should have been forced to the SCOTUS but it wasn't.

also remember, any one of those sites could have been established just for this reason and to me it sure looks like GEDMatch is one.
    Orlando police granted first-ever genealogy website warrant

ORLANDO, Fla. - History has been made in Orange County.

The Orlando Police Department has become the first law enforcement agency to be granted a warrant for a genealogy website. Ancestry website GEDmatch helped Orlando police solve a 2001 murder case by providing access to its DNA database, but earlier this year, police say the website changed its privacy policy, blocking detectives.

“I absolutely understood why they’re trying to do that. They’re trying to protect their consumers, but everything that we do in law enforcement starts out free or easy and always evolves to subpoena or a search warrant,” said Michael Fields, a homicide detective at the Orlando Police Department.

Det. Fields says he felt the site could be useful in a new case. His team wrote up the first-ever search warrant for a genealogy site.