Does a title change hands Due to a DQ?

Discussion in 'MMA University' started by ATJ-Lucko, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. ATJ-Lucko

    ATJ-Lucko MMAtheist Survival Pool Champion

    Reputation:
    2,666,710,684
    actually 2 questions

    Example if Silva decides to upkick Okami again like in their first fight, and Okami can't continue say this happens in the 1st rd, first off is it a No Contest or a DQ if so then second does the tile change Hands?

    What does the mma unified rules say about it?
     
  2. The Sundance Kid

    The Sundance Kid Outlaw Staff Member

    Reputation:
    335,418,128
    No.

    Did you never watch the WWF?
     
  3. ATJ-Lucko

    ATJ-Lucko MMAtheist Survival Pool Champion

    Reputation:
    2,666,710,684
    count outs too right? lol

    serious though anyone know the official rules?
     
  4. The Sundance Kid

    The Sundance Kid Outlaw Staff Member

    Reputation:
    335,418,128
    I think it should depend on if it was intentional or not.

    Kinda of a case by case thing, IMO.
     
  5. ATJ-Lucko

    ATJ-Lucko MMAtheist Survival Pool Champion

    Reputation:
    2,666,710,684

    Has a upkick ever been ruled unintentional? also is there a commission in Brazil or is the UFC running it?
     
  6. The Sundance Kid

    The Sundance Kid Outlaw Staff Member

    Reputation:
    335,418,128
    I'm almost 100% sure that the UFC is governing themselves with Mark Ratner taking the lead in that for this show.

    Could be wrong though.
     
  7. ILJO

    ILJO Bitch Nigga 3000 Site Donor

    Reputation:
    1,594,331,673
    It would probably be a DQ loss for Anderson but there are no "unified rules" for what happens to a belt because the belt doesn't belong to any commission... it's the UFC that gives out the belts


    edit: whoops, didn't see the last few posts. Even if it was in the US, the UFC could do what they want with the belt
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
  8. ATJ-Lucko

    ATJ-Lucko MMAtheist Survival Pool Champion

    Reputation:
    2,666,710,684
    I wonder what the UFC would do at that moment? say if Silva does upkick Okami again, what are the UFC rules?
     
  9. ILJO

    ILJO Bitch Nigga 3000 Site Donor

    Reputation:
    1,594,331,673
    I don't know if they have a rule for that. It might just depend on the situation. But either way, I think if there is controversy over who should/shouldn't be champ, they would probably just do an immediate rematch anyway.
     
  10. Dirty

    Dirty fuck you!

    Reputation:
    44,393,129
    The most black and white way I can see it is, if a champ went out and just started Jo Son-ning some guys balls he would get DQ'd, lose the fight in the AC eyes and would likely lose his belt. Now this is showing intent on an illegal strike as opposed to an upkick where a fighter could legitimatly think a fighter wasnt grounded.

    If deemed unintentional in the 1st or 2nd I believe it is a NC. If they are in championship rounds (Like Cerrone/Varner) it goes to the cards. Not sure what would happen if it had gotten stopped in the 3rd in a championship fight, but I believe a fight has to go at least 3 full rounds before a judge can render a decision.
     
  11. foundstarr

    foundstarr Inspector SpaceTime Site Donor

    Reputation:
    93,878,049
    I assume Okami gets the belt and they setup a rematch. A loss is a loss, if Silva were to keep the title. Then every champ would upkick the shit out of people to keep the title.
     
  12. Peasant

    Peasant Active Member

    Reputation:
    20,156
    Word.
     
  13. Clint

    Clint Administrator Staff Member

    Reputation:
    87,560,791
    To me the better option would be to strip the champion of the belt and then set up a fight for the vacant title between the guy who won via DQ and whoever the next in line is. That way the belt isn't awarded to a guy that didn't win it.
     
  14. Harlem Hustler

    Harlem Hustler Dont argue, I'm always right!

    Reputation:
    70,839,607
    The rules are exactly how it is in Boxing. Regardless of how the champion losses, the title will always change hands. Some of you have watched too much rasslin lol.
     
  15. Pinhead

    Pinhead Member

    Reputation:
    6,329,926
    is it wrong to get a semi when you watch rasslin lol?

    ph
     

Share This Page